Amos Anderson (1878–1961) aloitti uransa liikemiehenä ja teollisuusyrittäjänä Helsingissä 1900-luvun alussa. Hän perusti talouslehtiä, mainostoimiston ja kirjapainon. Pian Andersonista tuli Suomen suurin litografisen alan yrittäjä ja hän osti Hufvudstadsbladetin ja iltapäivisin ilmestyneen Svenska Pressenin.
Ateneum-rakennus valmistui vuonna 1887. Aikaisemmin rakennuksessa sijaitsivat Ateneumin taidemuseon lisäksi myös Suomen Taideyhdistyksen piirustuskoulu (1848–1939), jonka nimi muuttui 1939 Suomen Taideakatemian kouluksi (vuodesta 1985 Kuvataideakatemia), sekä Taideteollinen korkeakoulu vuoteen 1982 asti.
After the cease-fire with the Allies in 1944, Vesikko was retired. Finland was banned from operating submarines after the war and she was kept in storage until she was turned into a museum ship. Vesikko was one of five submarines to serve in the Finnish Navy.
Stadium and the Tower is closed until 2019 because of the renovation. Impact of Olympic Stadium renovation on neighbouring areas The renovated Olympic Stadium will be the most important venue for major events in Finland and a meeting point for sports, culture, entertainment and tourism.
Oy Pohjolan liikenne Ab operates a bus from Helsinki to Espoo every 20 minutes. Tickets cost $5 - $7 and the journey takes 17 min. Nine other operators also service this route. Alternatively, Finnish Railways (VR) operates a train from Helsinki to Espoo every 5 minutes.
<p>The <b>Senate Square</b> presents <a href="/pages/w/132496050120256">Carl Ludvig Engel</a>'s architecture as a unique allegory of political, religious, scientific and commercial powers in the centre of <a href="/pages/w/109595459060079">Helsinki</a>, <a href="/pages/w/112369262112381">Finland</a>.</p><p>Senate Square and its surroundings make up the oldest part of central Helsinki.
The University of Helsinki is the oldest university in Finland and the country's cultural and scientific cradle. The exhibitions and collections of the University Museum tell the fascinating story of the University, from the founding of the Royal Academy of Turku in the year 1640 up to the present day.
The House of the Estates, designed by Architect Karl Gustav Nyström, is located in the vicinity of Senate Square and stands opposite the Bank of Finland. This dignified Neo-Renaissance building serves as a venue for meetings and official functions held by the Prime Minister's Office and other offices of the central government.
Hvitträsk is also the boyhood home for world famous architect Eero Saarinen, who made his reputation primarily in the United States designing buildings and monuments such as the Gateway Arch in St. Louis, Missouri. The Saarinen home is a museum today, and within the courtyard building are a restaurant and a café.
On Saturday, June 4, 1960, four Finnish teenagers had decided to camp along the shore of Lake Bodom (Finnish: Bodominjärvi, Swedish: Bodom träsk), near the city of Espoo's Oittaa Manor. Maila Irmeli Björklund and Anja Tuulikki Mäki were fifteen years old at the time; accompanying them were their eighteen-year-old boyfriends, Seppo Antero Boisman and Nils Wilhelm Gustafsson.
The Military Museum of Finland (Finnish: Sotamuseo) is the central museum of the Finnish Defence Forces and the national special museum of military history. It is located in Helsinki and it is part of the Finnish National Defence University. In 2012, the Military Museum's exhibitions in Kruununhaka and Suomenlinna had around 55,000 visitors.
17 Jan. 2018 at 18:00 Dipoli, Otakaari 24, Espoo The legendary encounter between the two Grand Old Men of architecture is organised by Aalto University’s Department of Architecture and the Museum of Finnish Architecture in the framework of the Architecture Speaks! lecture series.
Nuuksio National Park . Scenery from Haukankierros trail to Brook Myllypuro valley. Photo: Mauri Leivo Photo: Jevgeni Usov Within easy reach of the Finnish capital you can escape into wild natural settings and enjoy typically Finnish scenery, with lovely lakes, green forests and rugged crags. Pack your backpack for a memorable family picnic or campout. The nearby Finnish Nature Centre Haltia ...
Welcome to Tarvaspää! The beautiful surroundings and unique architecture of the Gallen-Kallela Museum provide a fine setting for a museum visit. Designed and built by the artist Akseli Gallen-Kallela (1865 – 1931), the castle-like Tarvaspää studio and residence was opened to the public in 1961 as the Gallen-Kallela Museum.
www.tavastiaklubi.fi The Tavastia Club (Finnish: Tavastia-klubi) is a popular rock music club in Helsinki, Finland. The house is owned by Hämäläis-Osakunta, one of the student nations at the University of Helsinki, but since 1991 the club has been operated by a private enterprise renting the house from the nation.