“Start at the Bandstand…” begins many a direction given by an Exeter resident to either a newcomer or a passing motorist. What is this Bandstand? When was it built? What story does it have to tell? Some accounts of Exeter say it was built in 1913, others say 1917.
Welcome to The Bill Douglas Cinema Museum. The Bill Douglas Cinema Museum is home to one of the largest collections of material relating to the moving image in Britain. We are both an accredited public museum and an academic research facility and we hold a collection of over 75,000 items.
1900-1901: The third post office. The second post office closed in 1900. In that year, the present Budlake post office was built on what had been an old gate house to Killerton. The new post office opened in January 1901. It was a sub post office to the head office in Exeter and doubled as the village shop.
Bull Meadow Park Nearest address* 14 Temple Road Exeter Devon EX2 4HQ UK *GoogleMaps may generate inaccurate addresses. Always view map pin for exact location. Exeter City Council http://www.exeter.gov.uk Description. Suitable for Toddlers, Under 12s and Teens. Site Amenities: Parking (at Magdalen Road), Picnic Area.
Rougemont Castle, also known as Exeter Castle, is the historic castle of the city of Exeter, Devon, England. It was built into the northern corner of the Roman city walls starting in or shortly after the year 1068, following Exeter's rebellion against William the Conqueror.
Cathedral Green is a lively part of the City all year round as it changes its use for an array of events throughout the year including Exeter Cathedral Christmas Market, Exeter Craft Fair, exhibitions, and charity events as well as a popular lunch spot for tourists, students and business people.
Crealy is an award winning family theme park is set in the glorious East Devon countryside and boasts over 60 rides and attractions, plus with spectacular live entertainment shows and animals galore, it's no wonder that Crealy Adventure Park & Resort is regularly voted the best days out in Devon.
The parish of Crediton centres around the Church of the Holy Cross, a church with a history of at least 1100 years that seeks through its members to draw everyone into the love of Jesus Christ. Our regularly updated, website features much of the work of the Holy Cross.
Devon Wildlife Trust shared their event. · 14 June at 04:01 · For day 16 of 30 Days Wild, join us at Mincinglake Valley Park for our Big Family Fun Day! With loads of fun activities for all, including interesting walks, bug hunting, fire lighting, storytelling, wild craft and more - it’s set to be a great day out.
Exeter's Historic Quayside is one of the most attractive areas of the city, popular with locals and visitors alike for its fascinating history, interesting architecture and lively pubs and restaurants. Throughout the year events are held around the quay, everything from 10k runs to live music.
Exeter's Underground Passages were built to house the pipes that brought clean drinking water into medieval Exeter. A guided tour of Exeter's Underground Passages is a memorable event - narrow, dark, interesting and exciting. Visit the heritage centre before your guided tour, packed with interactive exhibits and interpretation.
General Sir Redvers Henry Buller, VC, GCB, GCMG (7 December 1839 – 2 June 1908) was a British Army officer and an English recipient of the Victoria Cross, the highest award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces.
Haldon Forest and Go Ape! is a further 200 yds on the left). From the South: There are 2 main roads from the South: A380 (from Torquay) A38 (from Plymouth/Cornwall) From the A380 northbound you will find an exit sign to "Haldon Forest & Exeter racecourse" (and Go Ape!) just before a service station.
He was a son of the Venerable Ernest Grey Sandford, Archdeacon of Exeter; his great-grandfather was Daniel Sandford, the Bishop of Edinburgh, and his brother was Brigadier Daniel Sandford. Richard Sandford attended Clifton College whence he joined the Royal Navy.
The valley is a real wildlife haven. Harvest mice nest in the fields, whitethroats and blackcaps skulk in the hedgerows and orange-tip and painted lady butterflies feed on the wildflowers. Getting around the park. Access is from Ludwell Lane, Topsham Road, Parkland Drive and Pynes Hill. There is a range of circular walks.
Green lanes, footpaths and bridleways can be explored from the valley park, which lead further into the beautiful countryside surrounding Exeter. History of the park. Several hundred years ago the nuns of the nearby St Katharine's priory built a dam across the Mincinglake stream to create a large lake. This was used to power a water mill that was located near to the existing orchard, at the southern end of the park. More recently, the park was the city's waste tip.
Many guide books to Exeter refer to Mol's as a coffee house opened by an Italian called Mol in the 16th century. In addition, they often state that Elizabethan seafarers such as Drake, Raleigh and Hawkins met to discuss their victory over the Armada, in the upper oak lined room of Mol's. However, new academic research has shown that much of the history of this building was concocted by a Mr Worth, who ran a gallery from the premises in the late 19th and early 20th century.
Killerton is signposted on brown tourism signs. Go through Pinhoe, then Broadclyst on B3181. Killerton is shortly after leaving the village of Broadclyst, turning on the left. Parking: 280 yards. Follow signs to main visitor car park (not up the main drive to the house). National Trust members park for free, £2 for up to 2 hours, £4 all day.
The site of Northernhay Gardens was quarried in Roman times for stone from which to build the adjacent city walls. In the Norman period it formed part of the defences of The Castle. Incorporating a good stretch of Roman wall and the only length of Saxon town wall to be seen in England, Northernhay Gardens are of outstanding historic significance.
Grade II listed in the National Register of Historic Parks and Gardens, Rougemont Gardens were originally part of the defences of Exeter Castle. They were converted into gardens in the late 18th century, and purchased by the city council in 1912. Incorporating the major historic features of the Roman city wall and ditches of William the Conqueror’s Castle, they are Exeter's hidden gem.
The views expressed by our fans and followers are their own and may not represent the views of the Royal Albert Memorial Museum & Art Gallery, Exeter City Council, employees, or affiliates.We love hearing from you and, to ensure that everyone has a positive experience, please don’t post any hateful, defamatory, or offensive comments, photos or videos.
South Street can clearly be seen heading towards the city centre where it meets Fore Street, North Street and the High Street at the ancient crossroad known as the Carfoix. The Roman South Gate is the only one of Exeter's Roman gatehouses for which archaeological evidence has been found and its remains still lie beneath the modern road.
* St Bartholomew's Cemetery is an early, perhaps the earliest, example of a cemetery laid out by the municipal authority (1835-7). * The cemetery is a good example of an early 19th century cemetery. * The cemetery contains important Egyptian-style catacombs which are an early example of the use of this architectural style in an English cemetery, particularly in a provincial city.
This fascinating historic site on Catherine Street boasts the remains of a 15th century almshouse, a 13th century canonry, a 4th century Roman dwelling and a 1st century Roman watchtower. The most obvious remains belong to the almshouse, built in 1458 by Canon John Stevens of Exeter Cathedral.
Medieval chapel and standing cross called St Loye’s Chapel and Cross. Reasons for Designation. A medieval chapel is a building, usually rectangular, containing a range of furnishings and fittings appropriate for Christian worship in the pre- Reformation period.
St Martin's props up the black-and-white building of Mol's Coffee House on a corner of Exeter's historic Cathedral Close. It is one of the oldest buildings in the city, consecrated a year before the Norman Conquest, and was once one of six churches clustered in the cathedral's shadow.
The Benedictine Priory of St Nicholas or just St Nicholas Priory was a Benedictine monastery founded in Exeter, England, in 1087. At the dissolution of the monasteries the church and chapter house range were pulled down but the domestic buildings were left intact.