Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings is an aquarium in Hastings, England which opened on 21 March 2008, It was the fourth aquarium opened by Blue Reef. Following a £1.5m re-development programme over the winter the aquarium has been transformed into a state-of-the-art visitor attraction.
Bottle Alley, in Hastings, designed in the early 1930s by borough engineer Sidney Little, features panels of different coloured glass. It was built to provide an undercover walkway in bad weather but has become dilapidated in recent years. Renovation work due to begin on 18 January will include repairs to the concrete structure and new lighting.
Church in the Wood, officially known as St Leonard's Church and originally as St Rumbold's Church, is an Anglican church in the Hollington area of the town and borough of Hastings, one of six local government districts in the English county of East Sussex.
The Cyril and Lilian Bishop was the RNLI lifeboat stationed at Hastings from 1931 till 1950, during which time she is known to have been launched 99 times and to have saved at least 34 lives. 1 In addition, she may have saved possibly hundreds more lives while taking part in the evacuation of British and allied troops from the beaches of Dunkirk in 1940.
East Hill Lift Step aboard this historic funicular railway and enjoy views of the fishing fleet and rows of net shops on the seafront. One of the steepest funicular railways in the country, the East Hill Lift carries passengers up a steep and rocky cliff to Hastings Country Park at the top.
Filsham Reedbed Reserve Map One of the largest reedbeds in Sussex, Filsham Reedbed sits at the southern end of the Combe Haven Valley, the green space between Bexhill and Hastings. The valley contains a range of wetland habitats and is an important resource for water and flood storage.
Hastings' main beach backs right onto the seafront of this established seaside resort town so you are never far away from the town's facilities and attractions. Backed by grand whitewashed Edwardian hotels and a two-layered promenade Hastings has all the credentials of a Great British seaside town. There is even a fine Victorian pier.
The construction of Hastings Castle depicted in the Bayeux Tapestry History Immediately after landing in England in 1066 William of Normandy ordered three fortifications to be built, Pevensey Castle in September 1066, Hastings (before the Battle of Hastings) and Dover.
Hastings Country Park Nature Reserve, owned and managed by Hastings Borough Council, is one of the foremost coastal nature reserves in the UK. It encompasses a Country Park, a Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI) and a Special Area of Conservation (SAC).
Hastings History House Our objective is to give Hastings and St Leonards the history house that the town’s reputation and place in the history of Britain deserves. We aim to provide an educational resource, facilities and opportunities to share with local residents, students and the town’s many visitors the excitement and interest that fires our members.
The fleet has been based on the same beach, below the cliffs at Hastings, for at least 400, possibly 600, years. Its longevity is attributed to the prolific fishing ground of Rye Bay nearby. Hastings fishing vessels are registered at Rye, and thus bear the letters "RX" (Rye, SusseX).
Hastings Museum and Art Gallery This interesting museum covers an eclectic range of topics, including Native Americans and John Logie Baird, the inventor of the television. A popular rainy day attraction, the Hastings Museum and Art Gallery holds a diverse range of displays relating to local history, as well as a selection of artifacts from other parts of the world.
Hastings Pier can be seen from any part of the seafront in the town. The pier was closed in 2006 following safety concerns from the council. In October 2010, a serious fire burned down most of the buildings on the pier and caused further damage to the structure.
Marline Valley A very rich wooded valley above a gill stream with meadows, ponds and scrub Marline Valley is a wonderful mix of semi-natural ancient woodland, unimproved meadows and a classic Sussex ghyll stream situated on the edge of Hastings.
Old Roar Gill Old Roar is a deeply cut narrow valley running along the path of a stream that starts from the sandstone ridge to the North of Hastings and runs through Alexandra Park and eventually to the sea. The soft rock has enabled the stream to cut down for a considerable distance over the centuries.
The St Helens Park Preservation Society. This beautiful 104 acre estate is situated in the heart of historic Hastings at the foot of the High Weald. The shelter provided by the ancient gill woodland, the rare lowland meadows and abundant freshwater ponds support a rich and diverse selection of wildlife.
St. Clements Caves are located on the West Hill in Hastings, East Sussex. The caves were named after a nearby parish church and are now part of a "Smuggler's Cave Adventure" tourist attraction which tells the story of smuggling on the South Coast of England 200 years ago.
James Burton designed St Leonards Gardens in 1828, a green heart for his new seaside resort set in a valley, amongst picturesque villas and reflecting a unique Regency style. Originally just for wealthy subscribers, the Hastings Corporation bought the gardens in 1880 and opened them to the general public.
The spirit of the America Ground continues to this day in Hastings and the American Flag is flown next to the Union Jack around the 4th of July every year. 1999 saw a ceremonial reading of the American Declaration of Independence in Robertson Street, and a huge party was thrown in 2000 by the America Ground with four stages set up to cater for a variety of entertainment.