The Army Museum of Tasmania is situated within Anglesea Barracks, Davey Street, Hobart. This Barracks precinct is recognised as one of Australia’s most significant historical military precincts and its appearance today is much as it was when the first buildings were constructed in 1814.
Stairs in Cape Bruny Lighthouse It is the second oldest extant lighthouse tower in Australia, as well as having the longest (158 years) history of being continuously manned. It was first lit in March 1838 and was eventually decommissioned on 6 August 1996.
Cascades Female Factory Historic Site is the most significant site associated with female convicts in Australia, it is listed as one of the 11 sites that together form the Australian Convict Sites World Heritage Property, inscribed on the World Heritage list in 2010.
Franklin Square is an oak lined public space in Central Hobart, Tasmania, Australia. It is named after a John Franklin, a former Governor of Tasmania. It and Hobart Town Hall were built on the site of the former government house of Tasmania.
In 1836 the station was linked into the Tasman Peninsula system. Through this network of of semaphore stations, messages could be rapidly relayed from the penal settlement at Port Arthur to Hobart. The Hobart semaphore is located at the Mulgrave Battery in Castray Esplanade in Battery Point.
Hobart (/ ˈ h oʊ b ɑːr t / ( listen)) is the capital and most populous city of the Australian island state of Tasmania. With a population of approximately 225,000 (over 40% of Tasmania's population), it is the second least populated Australian state capital city.
The oldest synagogue still in use in Australia—and the Southern Hemisphere—is home to the Hobart Hebrew Congregation. We've served the Jewish community of Tasmania since 1845, and our first minutes dating to 1842 are held along with other early documents at the State Archives. Please join us for prayer, a visit, or social events.
Hobart's TrikeMania Adventure Tours offer tours around Hobart including tours through Salamanca, Battery Point and Mt Wellington. David will share with you some of Hobart's great history as he shows you the best Hobart has to offer!
Kelly's Steps is an architectural landmark in Hobart, Tasmania. The steps, named after James Kelly, connect the suburb of Battery Point to Salamanca Place. At the time Kelly constructed the steps in 1839, Battery Point was on a cliff that overlooked wharfs of Sullivans Cove.
The Maritime Museum’s mission is to promote an understanding of the maritime heritage of Tasmania and its importance to people's lives through research, interpretation and presentation of our maritime history to the community. As an island state, the sea is significant to all Tasmanians.
To develop the Mawson’s Huts Replica Museum as a boutique world class museum that: provides visitors with the opportunity to learn and understand the history and achievements of the men of the 1911-14 Australasian Antarctic Expedition led by Douglas Mawson; helps promote awareness of Australia’s involvement in the Antarctic; and highlights Hobart as the gateway to the Antarctic continent for the Asia Pacific region.
Mount Wellington, officially kunanyi / Mount Wellington, incorporating its Palawa kani name (Aboriginal: Unghbanyahletta or Poorawetter), is a mountain in the southeast coastal region of Tasmania, Australia. It is the summit of the Wellington Range and is within the Wellington Park reserve.
Narryna was later the residence of Hobart businessmen and women, lawyers, politicians and bankers. In 1955 it became Australia's first folk museum through the efforts of Hobart residents who formed a collection that is redolent of the mercantile and maritime histories of Salamanca Place and Battery Point.
Being at a lower elevation with a sunny aspect makes this a good option for a winter walk. Lush green ferns and mosses surround O’Grady’s Falls which are best viewed from the middle of the bridge. The cold clear water cascading over these falls flows into Hobart Rivulet, under the city and then into the Derwent River.
Penitentiary Chapel. Take a tour of the 'Tench' for a fascinating lesson in Hobart's dark history. Regarded as one of the most significant convict sites in Australia, the Penitentiary Chapel, known at the time as the Tench, began as barracks built in 1830 for convict prisoners and included a chapel.
Segway Tasmania offers fully guided tours at a range of iconic Tasmanian scenic destinations for individuals, families and groups. A range of tours are available from just $88 per person including our unique Hobart Waterfront tour and the Queens Domain tour.
Beach in Hobart TAS. Short Beach (T 451) is a 150 m long sandy beach located at the channelised mouth of Sandy Bay Rivulet. The beach extends south of the mouth to a seawall that protrudes 100 m into the bay and surrounds a hectare of reclaimed land occupied by rowing clubs, a Sea...
St David's Park. Location: Cnr Davey Street and Sandy Bay Road, Hobart A short walk up from Salamanca Place, St David's Park is located on the site of St David's cemetery. St David's Park is a formal English style walled park and dates from the beginning of European settlement in 1804.
A brief history of the church building: A large and beautiful sandstone church, St George's Battery Point is one of the earliest Anglican churches in Tasmania. The story of St George's begins in 1834 when the city of Hobart was just 30 years old.
Shaping Tasmania is an online exhibition and gallery trail of 99 objects from Tasmania’s State Collection, selected from the objects on display throughout the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery. These objects explore significant events and movements that have helped create the Tasmania we know today.
The Tasmanian Seed Conservation Centre (TSCC) is a seed banking facility located in a purpose-built laboratory at the Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens. Established in 2005, the TSCC has become the cornerstone of the Botanical Gardens conservation strategy.
Here you'll find sweeping views of Hobart and Storm Bay from the quaint little signal station - the next best views of Hobart and the surrounding waterways after Mt Wellington. The Truganini Reserve extends on from the signal station and protects an area of native bushland on the south-east side of Mount Nelson.
Please note due to the high demand for site bookings at the Waterworks Reserve, we do not currently accept bookings via email. Bookings can be made up to 12 months ahead. Payments. In person – Hobart Council Centre, 16 Elizabeth Street, Hobart. By telephone – Credit card payments at the time of booking by telephoning 03 6238 2886.
Set on absolute water frontage and close to Salamanca and the city centre, Wrest Point is the luxury viewing deck for Hobart’s many charms. Few cities in the world combine metropolitan proximity with sprawling gardens, beaches and marinas as Hobart does.