The A.V. Fomin Botanical Garden is one of the oldest botanical gardens in Ukraine, located in Kiev, the capital of Ukraine. In 1839 the Kiev Taras Shevchenko University opened its own botanical garden. The botanical garden is 22.5 hectares (0.225 km²), with 8,000 plant species, including 143 recorded in the Ukraine's Red Book of Rare Species.
Stalls at Besarabsky Market sell a variety of products including fish, meat, poultry, fresh fruit, vegetables, cheese, caviar, dried fruit, nuts, spices, honey, and flowers. Produce is fresh and the displays colourful. Prices are relatively high by Ukrainian standards. Goods are not marked with prices and haggling is essential.
Services and activities Water Park Jurassic «Dream Island» animators; water aerobics with a fitness trainer; Entertainment programs are on holidays; holding children`s parties, corporate events. How to get to the water park Jurassic «Dream Island» Address: Obolonskiy prospect, 21-B, Kiev. Phone: (044) 485-21-11, 485-21-12.
Feofaniya (Ukrainian: Феофанія; also called Theophania) is a park located in the historical neighborhood on a tract near the southern outskirts of Kiev, the capital of Ukraine. The neighborhood is located in the administrative Holosiivskyi Raion amidst the neighborhoods of Holosiiv, Teremky, Pyrohiv and Khotiv.
The Golden Gates of Kiev (Ukrainian: золоті ворота, Zoloti vorota) was the main gate in the 11th century fortifications of Kiev, the capital of Kievan Rus'. It was named in imitation of the Golden Gate of Constantinople. The structure was dismantled in the Middle Ages, leaving few vestiges of its existence.
Khreshchatyk (Ukrainian: Хрещатик, Khreshchatyk;) is the main street of Kyiv, Ukraine. The street has a length of 1.2km (0.81 mi). It stretches from the European Square (northeast) through the Maidan and to Bessarabska Square (southwest) where the Besarabsky Market is located.
The Kiev Fortress (Ukrainian: Київська фортеця; Kyivs'ka fortetsia; Russian: Киевская крепость; Kievskaya krepost') is a complex of Russian fortifications in Kiev, Ukraine built over the span of the 17th through 19th centuries, soon after the 1654 Council in Pereyaslav, based on already existing fortified monastery of Kiev Pechersk Lavra.
The Kiev funicular is a ride that should be on every tourist’s list of fascinating things to explore. The funicular connects the historic upper town to the lower Podil district through the steep hill and gives you the opportunity to explore the breathtakingly beautiful scenery of Kiev and also view the Dnieper River.
Kiev Pechersk Lavra or Kyiv Pechersk Lavra (Ukrainian: Києво-Печерська лавра: Kyievo-Pechers'ka lavra, Russian: Киeво-Печерская лавра: Kievo-Pecherskaya lavra), also known as the Kiev Monastery of the Caves, is a historic Orthodox Christian monastery which gave its name to one of the city districts where it is located in Kiev.
Kyiv zoo is a conservation, research and cultural-educational institution that is artificially created object of natural reserve Fund of national importance. During its century-long history, the zoo has come a long way from a public menagerie to one of the largest on the territory of Zoological parks in Europe, which covers an area of about 34 hectares.
Maidan Nezalezhnosti (Ukrainian: Майдан Незалежності [mɐjˈdɑn nezɐˈlɛʒnosʲtʲi], literally: Independence Square) is the central square of Kiev, the capital city of Ukraine. One of the city's main squares, it is located on Khreshchatyk Street in the Shevchenko Raion.
Park is located in the Pechersk Raion of Kiev next to important government institutions such as the Parliament's building which is separated from the park by ploshcha Konstytutsii (Constitution Square). The Constitution Square is rather elongated and serves as the park's northwestern border.
Mezhyhirya is also the former summer house of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union's leaders since 1935. [not in citation given] During the occupation by Nazi Germany, it was a residence of the Reich Commissar Erich Koch in a palace of the Kiev Military District commander Iona Yakir.
Website: http://www.bulgakov.org.ua Mikhail Bulgakov Museum (officially known as Literature-Memorial Museum to Mikhail Bulgakov, commonly called the Bulgakov House or Lystovnychyi House) is a museum in Kiev, Ukraine, dedicated to Kiev-born Russian writer Mikhail Bulgakov.
The present building is located in a prominent position in historic Volodymyrska Street in Kiev. Designed by architect Joseph Karakis, it was built in 1937-1939 to house the Shevchenko State Art School. In 1944, the art school moved and the building became the National Museum of the History of Ukraine.
The National Museum of the History of Ukraine in the Second World War (Ukrainian: Музей історії України у Другій світовій війні) is a memorial complex commemorating the German-Soviet War located in the southern outskirts of the Pechersk district of Kiev, the capital of Ukraine, on the picturesque hills on the right-bank of the Dnieper River.
Restricting consideration to lawful options, the absolute cheapest (but certainly not fastest or easiest) approach would probably be to make an arrangement with the power plant administration to briefly visit areas on the premises of Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant (the New Safe Confinement observation pavilion, the Unit 4 memorial area, etc.).
The Landscape Alley Park The Landscape Alley is zone in Kiev created on the spot where used to be the defence shafts of the Upper Town. It was planned to be a part of the architectural complex “Ancient Kiev” that had to include all the territories that used to form Kiev.
The Park of Partisan Glory is located in Darnitsa district of Kiev. It was founded in 1970. The Park includes 7 territorial zones: memorial area with the Museum of Partisan Glory, the area for cultural and educational events, exhibition area, sport area, area of quiet relaxation, the area for kids, domestic area.
The People's Friendship Arch (Ukrainian: Арка дружби народів, translit. Arka druzhby narodiv) is a monument in Kiev, the capital of Ukraine. It was opened together with the All-Union Lenin Museum (today, Ukrainian House) on November 7, 1982 to commemorate the 60th Anniversary of the USSR and the celebration of the 1,500th Anniversary of the Kiev city.
Saint Sophia Cathedral in Kiev is an outstanding architectural monument of Kievan Rus'. The cathedral is one of the city's best known landmarks and the first heritage site in Ukraine to be inscribed on the World Heritage List along with the Kiev Cave Monastery complex.
Volodymyrska Hill or Saint Volodymyr Hill (Ukrainian: Володимирська гірка, "Volodymyrska hirka", Russian: Влади́мирская горка, Vladimirskaya gorka) is a large 10.6 hectares (0.106 km 2) park located on the steep right-bank of the Dnipro River in central Kiev (Kyiv), the capital of Ukraine.
The Saint Andrew's Church (Ukrainian: Андріївська церква, Andriyivs'ka tserkva; Russian: Андреевская церковь, Andreyevskaya tserkov) is a major Baroque church located in Kiev, the capital of Ukraine. The church was constructed in 1747–1754, to a design by the Italian architect Bartolomeo Rastrelli.
St. Michael's Golden-Domed Monastery (Ukrainian: Михайлівський золотоверхий монастир, Mykhaylivs’kyi zolotoverkhyi monastyr) is a functioning monastery in Kiev, the capital of Ukraine. The monastery is located on the right bank of the Dnieper River on the edge of a bluff northeast of the Saint Sophia Cathedral.
In 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016-2017 Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv (KNU) is ranked within top 500 Universities in the world. In 2009, Delovoy magazine ranked Taras Shevchenko University as the best university in Ukraine, being nationally the strongest in the greatest number of academic fields.
The Motherland Monument is one of the visiting cards of Kyiv. The sculpture is a part of the National Museum of the History of Ukraine in the Second World War and symbolizes the feat accomplished by people during the war. The author of the monument is the sculptor Vasyl Borodai.
There are also several other smaller islands located around the Trukhaniv Island. The island is separated from the right-bank Kiev by the Dnieper and from the left-bank Kiev by Desenka which is a distributary of Desna River, making Trukhaniv island part of its river delta.