Facts about Carolina

When Carolina was divided in 1710, the southern part was called South Carolina and the northern, or older settlement, North Carolina. From this came the nickname the “Old North State.” Historians have recorded that the principle products during the early history of North Carolina were "tar, pitch, and turpentine."

The Culture of North Carolina is a subculture in the United States. As a coastal state, North Carolina culture has been greatly influenced by the southeastern United States and early settlers from England. More recently, North Carolina has a seen an influx of immigrants from New England as well as Hispanic immigrants.

Current time and Daylight Saving Time (DST) rules. North Carolina is in the Eastern Time Zone in the United States of America (USA). Eastern Standard Time ( EST ) is 5 hours behind Greenwich Mean Time ( GMT-5 ).

North Carolina is the ninth-largest U.S. state / territory by population (10,273,419). The top 10 U.S. states and territories by population are: California, Texas, Florida, New York, Pennsylvania, Illinois, Ohio, Georgia, North Carolina, Michigan.

Census dataLanguageNumber of speakersSpeak only English6909648Speak other language603517Spanish or Spanish Creole378942Other Indo-European languages11996141 more rows

Northern Carolina, like Rhode Island in the North, drew the region's discontented masses. As the two locales evolved separately and as their differing geographies and inhabitants steered contrasting courses, calls for a formal split emerged. In 1712, North Carolina and South Carolina became distinct colonies.

History of South Carolina Colony. South Carolina, part of the original Province of Carolina, was founded in 1663 when King Charles II gave the land to eight noble men known as the Lords Proprietors. ... North and South Carolina became separate royal colonies in 1729.

South Carolina is the nation's leading peach producer and shipper east of the Mississippi River. Before being known as the Palmetto State, South Carolina was known as, and had emblazoned on their license plates, the Iodine State.

South Carolina is divided into four distinct areas; the Sea Islands, Atlantic Coastal Plain, Piedmont Plateau and Blue Ridge Mountains. Hundreds of sea islands front its deeply indented southeastern Atlantic Ocean coastline. From there the broad and flat Atlantic Coastal Plain extends inland near 70 miles.

The official nickname for South Carolina is The Palmetto State, referring to the state tree (the sabal palmetto). Commonly called the cabbage palmetto, the sabal palmetto (Inodes Palmetto) was added to the "National" flag of South Carolina after it seceded from the Union in 1861.

South CarolinaState of South CarolinaGovernorHenry McMaster (R)Lieutenant GovernorKevin Bryant (R)LegislatureGeneral Assembly• Upper houseSenate37 more rows

King Charles II of England gave the Carolina territory to eight loyal friends then collectively known as the “Lords Proprietor” in 1663. Their first Carolina settlement was “Charles Town” named after King Charles which would later be shortened to “Charleston”.

Charleston was founded in 1670 as Charles Town, honoring King Charles II of England. Its initial location at Albemarle Point on the west bank of the Ashley River (now Charles Towne Landing) was abandoned in 1680 for its present site, which became the fifth-largest city in North America within ten years.

Chucktown: As Charleston was originally founded as Charles Town (to honor King Charles II of England) and Chuck is a common alias for Charles, this nickname is a logical one. River City: Located at the confluence of three rivers (the Broad, Saluda, and Congaree), this Columbia nickname is a given.