Soy meat alternatives, also called "meat analogs", are comparable to real meat on many fronts and are widely consumed by vegans and vegetarians. While soy may fall short in certain aspects when compared to real meat, it could also be more advantageous in others, making it a solid protein option to add into any diet.
Miso paste is made from a mixture of soy beans, rice or barley that has been fermented with salt, water and a fungus. But before you get grossed out by the fungus part, you should know that it carries quite a few health benefits since it's packed with protein, vitamins and minerals.
Tamari is a thicker, less salty, fermented soy sauce that contains less wheat (if not any depending on the brand, aka “gluten-free”). It's great for making a simple teriyaki sauce too! Tamari is a thicker, less salty, fermented soy sauce that contains less wheat (if not any depending on the brand, aka “gluten-free”).
There's never an excuse soy milk Some lactose-intolerant folks drink it because they want a milk substitute. Some health-conscious people drink it because they think it is the 'heart-healthy low fat option.' And some vegans drink it because they don't want to drink cow milk.
Though tempeh isn’t quite as popular as tofu, it is a mainstay of many vegetarian and vegan diets (and is particularly popular in Southeast Asia). Like tofu, tempeh is a soy-based product. It’s made by fermenting cooked soybeans and then forming the mixture into a firm, dense cake. Most versions also contain beans, grains, and flavorings.